CSIRO science leaders unlock benefit for Australia


Six leaders from Australia’s national science agency, CSIRO, have been recognised for the impact of their research in tackling challenges like food security, invasive species and climate change.

They make up more than one fifth of the 25 experts from across the country to be elected as Fellows of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE) this year.

CSIRO Chief Scientist and ATSE Fellow Dr Cathy Foley congratulated the leaders on their success.

“CSIRO performs world-class research, manages science-ready national research facilities, and collaborates around the country to turn our science into solutions to make life better for everyone,” Dr Foley said.

“Our people are among the best in the world, not just for their scientific excellence and breakthrough research, but also for their passionate commitment to using their knowledge and expertise to solve the greatest challenges.

“I heartily congratulate them all on this recognition of their achievements so far, and look forward to what’s next.”

CSIRO’s newest ATSE Fellows are:

Dr Douglas Bock, Director CSIRO Astronomy and Space Science
Dr Bock has led the design, construction and operation of innovative signal processing radio telescopes in Australia and the USA. Full bio here.

Dr Helen Cleugh, Director Climate Science Centre, CSIRO
Dr Cleugh is a highly respected and influential scientist and leader, translating research into sustainable outcomes for Australia’s climate, landscapes and the atmosphere. Full bio here.

Dr Martin Cole, Deputy Director Agriculture and Food, CSIRO
An influential, inspirational and visionary leader, Dr Cole’s strategic thinking forges new directions for agribusiness and world food security. Full bio here.

Dr Andy Sheppard, Research Director Managing Invasive Species and Diseases, CSIRO
Dr Sheppard is a globally recognised leader in the management of invasive organisms which compromise the integrity of Australia’s social fabric, environment and rural industries. Full bio here.

Dr Surinder Pal Singh, Chief Research Scientist Agriculture and Food, CSIRO
Dr Singh is internationally renowned for translating his plant oils research into commercial crops: novel versions of canola and safflower. Full bio here.

Prof Nicolas Voelcker, Science Leader, CSIRO and Senior Researcher, Monash University
Prof Voelker is a world-leading materials scientist who has helped to build the nanotech industry in Clayton, Victoria. Full bio here.

Academy President Professor Hugh Bradlow welcomed the new Fellows.

“We bring together Australia’s leading experts in applied science, technology and engineering to provide impartial, practical and evidence-based advice to enable Australia to maintain its position as a leading technology economy,” Professor Bradlow said.

“The 2019 cohort of new Fellows comprises a remarkable and talented group, who will contribute to helping the Academy fulfil its mission.”

The new Fellows will be formally welcomed into the Academy at its Annual General Meeting in Melbourne on 29 November.


Leave A Reply